Who am I and why should I create one more travel blog?

Let me explain myself.  I have a little bit of a history with blogs.   I’ve written in them, I’ve read them.  I find that they can sometimes become just one more thing to do in an already busy life (I hated the guilt that came when I realized that I hadn’t blogged in weeks).  And personal blogs are intrinsically self-centered.  I just realized that up until this point in the post, I’ve used the word “I” 7 times… see what I mean? The author is focusing on herself and hoping that she has some kind of an audience reading the words she is typing, words about her world.  With so many global and local issues people should be reading and thinking about, it feels small-minded to write about little ‘ol me and hope that people notice it.

But the reason I’m starting this blog is that I’ve realized that I’m going to regret it if I don’t keep track of what’s happening in my life, at least over the next six months.  After years of considering, researching, and trying to figure out a way to volunteer in South America, I am doing just that.  In just over one month, I board a plane for Quito, Ecuador and will begin my six months of teaching English in the Chimborazo province.  Now I’ve mentioned a few of my qualms with blogging, but I’ve not revealed what I find to be their ultimate redeeming feature.  They are like that mirror that the beast has in Beauty and the Beast (my favorite Disney movie!)  In case you don’t remember said mirror, the beast, in his isolation, was able to look into it and tell it who he wanted to be able to see.  Then it would serve as his kind of window into that person’s life, even if they were miles apart.  I didn’t really need to use that Disney allusion to make my point that blogs connect us, but, hey, just giving you a taste of who I am on this first post.

What?  I don’t even need to read blogs.  They sell these MAGIC mirrors!  Thanks, Disney.

Anyway, I’m going to miss a few people who will be back at home and they just might miss me too (when I say home, I mean Topeka, but I have somehow wound up with kindred spirits around the globe and I don’t think I’d be presumptuous to assume that they think of me as much as I think of them).  So I figured blogging would be a pretty good way to keep people posted on my life down south.  Also a good way for me to make sure that I am pausing, reflecting, and documenting my time there.  Please let me know if you’re reading this.  Maybe it’s because I’m a youngest, but affirmation and acknowledgement makes me feel good.  I know that after October 25th rolls around and my plane lands in Ecuador, every note, email, or comment from loved ones is going to brighten my heart.  Thanks for visiting!  Check back for updates.

One thought on “Who am I and why should I create one more travel blog?

  1. Hi, Tricia! I found your blog through Elena’s blog. That’s so exciting that you’ll be teaching overseas! I’m a WordPresser (ooh, the red squiggly lines appeared so that’s obviously not a legitimate word. Oh well.) too, and I’ve subscribed to your blog. 🙂 Once you have a snail mail address, do share it please, so we can send some snail mail your way :). You’ll do a smashing job in Ecuador! We’ll be praying for you. Looking forward to reading your posts!

Any thoughts?

